The Vultures takes place during one night, in the current year.
The action occurs ​on 2 sets (Library and Bedroom)

​The cast requires 10 actors.
(7 males, 2 females, 1 male or female)



​​​​


​​​​CAST OF CHARACTERS
(In Order of Appearance)

TALBOT
A dark, severe, androgynous, being.
Dressed in black and wears dark spectacles.
Age unknown – Somewhere between 50 and 70.
Can be played by a male or female.


MR. CROSBY
A friendly lawyer in his 50’s or 60’s.

HARRISON BLYTHE
A tall, handsome male model with an amazing body.
Mid 30’s to early 40’s.

MARY ROBERTS
A stately, well-dressed, bitter old woman.
She appears to dislike everyone and everything.

ASHLEY HOPWOOD
A pleasant, nail technician from the South.
Late 20’s or early 30’s and not too bright.

CHARLES WILLARD
A charming, mild mannered realtor, in his 40’s.

PAUL JONES
A sweet, gentle accountant in his late 20’s or 30’s.

HUNTER WEST
A nice, charming young hairdresser, in his late 20’s or 30’s.

RINEHART
A hospital guard in his 30’s or 40’s. Big, strong and can be brutal.

DR. AVERY
A friendly doctor in his 60’s or 70’s.
ABOUT THE PLAY

The Vultures  is a modern day adaptation of two classic plays, The Cat and the Canary and The Bat.   These plays, which are both in the public domain, have delighted audiences for nearly one hundred years and were ripe for an update and re-working.

In the vein of Ten Little Indians, Clue and Murder by Death, The Vultures  puts a modern, comedic, gay spin on the haunted house/ mystery genre.

The story takes place at Westmount Estate, on the 20th anniversary of the death of publishing magnate Simon West..  As his six remaining relatives gather for the reading of his will, the mysterious housekeeper declares, “The relatives are swooping in like a wake of vultures ready to pick the carcass clean.”

Who will ultimately inherit the fortune? Will it be the charming realtor, the handsome male model, the dimwitted nail technician, the bitter old woman, the sweet hairdresser, or the mild mannered accountant?

Throw in a priceless pocket watch, an androgynous housekeeper, an escaped mental patient, and a pair of reunited lovers and the result is murder, with a hefty dose of laughs.

SAMPLE PAGES​
Contact Me