ABOUT THE PLAY


In the vein of And Then There Were None, Clue and Murder by Death, The Vultures puts a modern, comedic, gay spin on the haunted house/ mystery genre.


The story takes place at Westmount Estate, on the 20th anniversary of the death of publishing magnate Simon West. As the six potential heirs gather for the reading of his will, the mysterious housekeeper declares, “The relatives are swooping in like a wake of vultures ready to pick the carcass clean.”


Who will ultimately inherit the fortune? Will it be the charming realtor, the handsome male model, the dimwitted nail technician, the bitter old woman, the gay hairdresser, or the mild mannered accountant?


Throw in a priceless pocket watch, an androgynous housekeeper, an escaped mental patient, and a pair of reunited lovers and the result is murder, with a hefty dose of laughs.



































CAST OF CHARACTERS
(In Order of Appearance)


TALBOT
A dark, severe, androgynous, being.
Dresses in black and wears dark spectacles.
Age unknown – Somewhere between 50 and 70.
Can be played by a male or female.


MR. CROSBY
A friendly lawyer in his 50’s or 60’s.


HARRISON BLYTHE
A tall, handsome male model with an amazing body.
Mid 30’s to early 40’s.


MARY ROBERTS
A stately, well-dressed, bitter old woman.
She appears to dislike everyone and everything.


ASHLEY HOPWOOD
A pleasant, nail technician from the South.
Late 20’s or early 30’s and not too bright.


CHARLES WILLARD
A charming, mild mannered realtor, in his 40’s.


PAUL JONES
A sweet, gentle accountant in his late 20’s or 30’s.


HUNTER WEST
A nice, charming young hairdresser, in his late 20’s or 30’s.


RINEHART
A hospital guard in his 30’s or 40’s. Big, strong and can be brutal.


DR. AVERY
A friendly doctor in his 60’s or 70’s.



THE VULTURES.

July 16, 2018

October 25, 2018

In May of 2017, a small, private reading of The VULTUES took place.  I would like to thank everyone that volunteered their time and talent and to participate.


Thanks to:


Jowell Collins,

Mark Contorno,

Marty Grubbs,

Eric Parmer, 

Mark Smaglinski,

Andrew Souders,

Panagiota Valkanas,

Michelle McKenzie-Voigt,

Amy Wallin,

and Charlie Wein.

" .. . . a  well-executed and 

delightful murder mystery."

Catherine Randazzo

Associate Artist

Florida Studio Theatre

Staged Reading  11/3/2018

For licensing or additional information about The Vultures, use the contact form.

A Play by Mark A. Ridge

Based on public domain works by John Willard, Mary Roberts Rinehart and Avery Hopwood